Copyright in the Digital Age

How does copyright affect me as a doctoral researcher?

Who owns the copyright of the work I create during the course of my research?

What are the options if a publisher wants me to sign a contract that includes giving them the copyright for what I have written?

What is a Creative Commons licence? How does it work? Where can I find out more about them?

What can I include in my thesis without seeking permission and what do I need permission from the copyright holder to include? What do I do if I don’t know who holds the copyright?
All these questions were discussed at today’s Hive seminar with Naomi Korn, an expert in copyright issues pertaining to Higher Education. Naomi also made us aware of resources being developed by JISC to enable researchers to make decisions about what actions need to be taken to obtain appropriate copyright permission – and other tools to enable risk assessment when it isn’t possible to get permissions.
Between 11.30 and 12.30 on Tuesday, 21st February Martin Eve will be joining us  for a discussion in the Hive where we can explore the various issues about copyright raised today and perhaps identify others we would like answers to.
Later, on Tuesday afternoon, there is a training course organised through the Doctoral School and Library “Copyright issues in your doctoral thesis”, where expert information is available from the library staff.

Why not attend both the discussion and the training session! For the training course, go to http://www.sussex.ac.uk/doctoralschool/internal/researcherdev/events/, and to book to attend the discussion, please email us at researchhive@sussex.ac.uk.

Leave a Reply

