Hello and welcome from your new Research Hive Scholars!

Hello and welcome from your new Research Hive Scholars!
Lana, Jay and Nikoleta outside the Hive
Some of you will have been working away in the Hive all summer long, but for everyone just starting their doctoral studies at Sussex we’d like to wish you a very warm welcome to our blog.
This is where we’ll post lots of exciting information about Hive events, opportunities and competitions, as well as useful reflections and advice on all aspects of life as a researcher. We’d also love for you to get involved by contributing your own posts, and will be launching an exciting scheme to encourage this in the very near future! You can also help out by sending us any suggestions you have to researchhive@sussex.ac.uk, tweeting us @SussexResHive or dropping them in the Hive suggestion box.
We’d like to thank last year’s scholars Rachel Gimson, U. Ejiro O. Onomake and Jack Zeniewski for the wonderful job they did of co-ordinating everything, and to introduce ourselves. Your new Hive Scholars for 2014-15 are Jay Culligan, Nikoleta Kiapidou and Lana Harper.
There’s a little information about each of us below, and a photo so know who to come and chat to! We look forward to meeting you all very soon!
 
Jay Culligan
Hi, I’m a second year Life Sciences researcher in the Evolution, Behavior, and Ecology department. My research focuses on the camouflage and visual capabilities of the common cuttlefish. I am fortunate to collaborate with researchers at Bristol University, and it is my hope that we can create a visual model of the cuttlefish.
 I am looking forward to working with the library and other Hive scholars to foster an interactive research community among the postgraduate researchers. We offer support and information to make time here at Sussex easier. We’re all working for the same goals and it makes all our lives easier if we work together. Stop by the Hive and ask me anything about your time here at Sussex or planning your career after.
 
Nikoleta Kiapidou
Hello! I’m a second year PhD student at the Department of Politics. My PhD examines the impact of the Eurozone crisis on the national party systems of Germany, the UK, Ireland, and Greece. I also teach Research Methods in Political Science (exciting!) and I am involved in projects about political party attitudes in the EU. As a Hive Scholar I’m very happy to engage with the research community of the University of Sussex and I look forward to seeing you all in the Hive.
 
Lana Harper
My research is on English theatre and playhouses in the seventeenth century. I normally explain it to people by saying ‘Shakespeare and a bit later’, but if you really want to know about it then I’ll hit you with more theatre history than you can shake a stick at. I’m interested in the practical sides of performing early modern theatre, and used to work at Shakespeare’s Globe as a dramaturg. I love finding out about other people’s research so feel free to come chat to me and tell me about lots of stuff I don’t know.
I’m really looking forward to helping create a strong, friendly community of researchers as part of my work as a Hive Scholar, and helping to provide Sussex researchers with information and opportunities that they might not have come across otherwise. Please come and say hi to me in the Hive, or drop me an email at researchhive@sussex.ac.ukor a tweet @sussexreshive with any thoughts or suggestions you have about what you’d like from the Hive.
Leave a Reply

